CHANGE! Why is it so hard?

I just had a meeting with my coach to help walk me through some things I’m trying to make happen for me in my business, and I couldn’t help but think about all of you, my bootcampers and personal training clients.  My coach blasted me up and down for not getting “it” done…not getting the things done that will help me reach my goals.  I already knew before I talked to him that he was NOT going to be happy with me nor would he accept any excuses from me.  (It doesn’t matter that I’m a single mom of 3 kids, have been working 12 or 14 hr. days, blah, blah, blah, etc.)

I still had a hard time talking to him without making excuses!  I thought about our conversation afterwards and tried to pinpoint why I’m so frustrated.  It all boils down to CHANGE.  I’m not good with change.  I’m in unfamiliar territory as I work towards owning my own business.  It’s all so hard because I’m doing everything for the first time, and I’m having to make changes in my life and my daily routine.

I thought of all of my clients because you all are going through some of the same things.  We end up talking about how difficult “things” are (like changing our eating habits), and we talk and talk and think about it some more; yet we either don’t do anything about it or not enough to see results.  I believe that’s where some of the frustration comes from is the lack of “results” or connections between our thought processes and our actions.  We probably think about “it” (our bodies, our weight loss) many, many times a day, but what do we do about it?

I believe that’s where my frustration lies, in knowing that day after day goes by, but I’m not making steady, measurable progress.  I know that if I do even just a little each day and keep moving forward that I’ll eventually get where I’m trying to go.  However days and months go by, and I’ve made too few changes.  I want to see results!  (And I know that you do, too.)  Does anyone else identify with me?

I hope to be able to help each one of you chisel away at the obstacles that are standing in the way of your goals and dreams.   I recently read an article on How To Motivate the Unmotivated, and I immediately wanted to share it with everyone.  The article described the five stages in the Trans-Theoretical Model of change, which explains why people succeed or fail at changing a behavior.  It’s very interesting to look at when you’re evaluating your weight loss journey.

I’m sure I’ll be talking about it more in our class, but if you want to read more, go to this link and scroll down if you want to read more about the stages of change.

http://www.healthhabits.ca/2008/08/27/obesity-how-to-motivate-the-un-motivated/


Tags:

Leave a Reply

