I know you wanna be thin but how about fit and healthy?

Ladies, I’m sitting here at the Indiana Convention Center at registration for my son’s National Championship, and I’m inspired.  If you were here, you would be too…by YOU!

I just came back from a trainer’s conference with some of the fittest, most motivated, and energetic people in the country; but that’s not “it.”  (That’s not why I’m inspired, although you’ll hear more about my conference another time.)

“It” happened here at the National Pokemon Card tournament registration when I looked around at all of these “professional” CARD players.  I never used to notice these things before I became a trainer by the way.  I was taught to look at the inside of a person and not the outside.  However, I couldn’t help but notice that a HUGE majority of the people here are obese.  I guess it alarms me more because this is a group with which my son is highly involved.

That’s when it hit me.  I realized while looking around that YOU ladies are doing something that MOST Americans are NOT doing.  You’re exercising regularly.  You’re doing your best to take good care of yourselves, and you lead active, productive, healthy lives compared to most of our country.  I’ve done a little mini-documentary here at the conference just in the couple of hours that I’ve been here, and I want you to take a look.  I’m observing apparently some of the least active people in the country as a group, or maybe it’s the norm.  (You do know that 33 percent of North Carolinians are obese, right?)

Basically, I can’t figure out which came first, the chicken or the egg.  Did most of these people start playing cards because they were less active in the first place, or did their passion for cards cause their obesity?  I’m posting some pictures as evidence of what I’ve seen here, but please keep in mind that I’m just observing the state of our country and NOT judging.  My observations hit  home to me even more because I’m also so involved in kids fitness, and it’s our kids who are getting the worst end of this.  We have way too many kids who are suffering from obesity in our area and in our country.

I think it’s a good reminder for all of us that our lifestyle and the activities that we do in our daily routines DO make a difference in the shape of our bodies.  If you’ll notice in the pictures, regardless of what size each person is, their shape is indicative of their activity level.  They don’t have muscle tone.  They have an inactive shape.  I’m not picking on the overweight individuals either.  There have been a handful of very thin individuals who also look very inactive, sickly, or weak.

What YOU are doing in our bootcamp class IS making a difference in how your body functions and how it is shaped.   I wanted you to see the difference but even more to FEEL the difference.  Do you feel stronger now since you started working out in class?  Do you feel better physically?  How do you feel about yourself; do you feel a sense of accomplishment from what you’ve done so far and have better self-esteem?  Do you carry yourself differently after you workout?  I have one client whose husband swears up and down that his wife carries herself differently for the rest of the day AFTER her workout AND her demeanor is better.

Anyway, all I want you to take from this blog is that you need to give yourself a pat on the back every time you complete your workout to the best of your ability.  Just showing up is MORE THAN half the battle, and you all are doing an excellent job.  I have a lot of respect for you because of the effort and consistency you’ve displayed in the past few months, so keep it up!  You are all an inspiration and are motivators to those around you, so let’s go!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

