My Interval Workout on a Rainy Day, Ladder Speed Intervals

Today was rainy, so I got “stuck” on the cardio equipment in the gym for my cardio workout of the day.  Here’s what I did.  It ended up being a really good, refreshing but challenging workout.  It is not for the meek!  I did intervals running on the treadmill, but the following workout can be adjusted to go  your “sprint” speed or can even be done at the same intensity on another piece of cardio equipment like the bike or the elliptical.  Remember, the only rule I follow when I workout is to GO HARD!

To start, I warmed up by walking and then by “jogging” for about 5 minutes.  I always make sure I feel good and loose before starting anything that calls for intensity.  Sometimes it takes me 10 minutes instead of 5, but today I felt ready to go after 5 minutes of slowly increasing my speed.

Ladder Intervals:

Then I alternated by doing (running) 1 minute fast, then walking 1 minute slowly.  Here’s how I did it.

1 minute at 6.5 mph followed by 1 minute at 3.0 mph.

1 minute at 7.5 mph (I skipped 7.0 because I wanted to find the right challenging speed.) followed by 1 min. at 3.0 mph

1 minute at 8.0 mph, followed by 1 minute at 3.0 mph.

1 minute at 8.5 mph, followed by 1 minute at 3.0 mph.

1 minute at 9.0 mph, followed by 1 min. at 3.o mph.

1 minute at 8.5 mph, followed by 1 minute at 3.0 mph.

1 minute at 8.0 mph, followed by 1 minute at 3.0 mph.

1 minute at 7.5 mph, followed by 1 min. at 3.0 mph.

1 min. at 7.0 mph, followed by 1 min. at 3.0 mph.

1 min. at 6.5 mph, followed by 1 min. at 3.0 mph.

1 min. at 6.0 mph, followed by a 3 minute cool-down walking at 3.0 mph.

Remember, it doesn’t matter what your speed is on the treadmill.  You could be faster or slower than me, but what you’re shooting for is to get to that 70%-85% effort level, where you barely can make the 1 minute before you need to slow it down.  Try it for 5 to 10 intervals once or twice a week to start, and you’ll see yourself getting fitter and slimmer in a short amount of time!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

